Fun, unique way to send a note or invitation

I recently saw an article about hosting a seed swap. I am not a gardener at all and don’t see myself ever hosting a seed swap but a downloadable seed packet template in the article caught my eye. I figured if I enlarged the template it would make a really cute invitation. And since I was in charge of the invitations for a friend’s upcoming baby shower, I decided to give it a shot.

The template from the magazine was the size of a seed packet, so I just enlarged it to the size I wanted on a copier. I attached my enlarged template in case you want to make these. They are super easy and a lot of fun.
Seed Packet Invitation Template

After I cut out the template, I found some designed cardstock and traced it onto it and cut it out.
make your own invitations

Then I just folded over the flaps to create the packet. Put glue (a glue stick is best) on the areas where the flaps overlap so the packet is sealed. Leave the top flap open.
make your own invitations
make your own invitations

For the invitation, I just typed the invite and copied it so there were four invitations per 8.5″ x 11″ sheet of cardstock. One invitation is about 1/4 of a page after you cut it out.
I used decorative scissors to cut the invitations out causing a curvy edge to each side. I had to trim the invitations a couple times until they slid in and out easily.
make your own invitations

I chose to put a little cut out on the front of the packet that said, “A seedling is ready to sprout..” just to keep with the garden theme. You can put a little note on the front such as, “You’re invited” or “Please join us” or just use the packet as the envelope and stamp and address it like you would any envelope.
make your own invitations
make your own invitations

You might find, like I did, that these are addicting. You can reduce or enlarge the template to any size you want and get really creative. Enlarge it enough to hold a flat 8.5″ x 11″ piece of paper and you’ll have yourself a very memorable resume presentation!

Have fun!

 

If you like free, fun DIY ideas, click the Follow button now!

2 thoughts on “Fun, unique way to send a note or invitation

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

