Fun Summer Sippers

Summer is finally here so it’s time for a fun way to drink our cold drinks.

This project started because I bought these cucumber melon waters thinking they were just flavored sparkling water, but after I got them home I realized they were filled with sugar and they were too sweet. Anyway, as I was pouring them down the drain (sad, I know) I noticed that the bottles were nice because they were all clear.

???????????????????????????????

I recently bought Crackle Medium to try on a wood piece I have so I thought I would experiment to see if it works on glass, too. Crackle Medium is a liquid you paint on between coats of paint that causes the paint to crackle, giving it an aged look. It’s pretty cool stuff.

The first thing I did was run the bottles through the dishwasher and then soaked them in hot water to get the labels off. Then I used painters tape to tape off sections and patterns for the bottles.

???????????????????????????????

For the crackle effect to work, you need contrasting colors of paint. Since I wanted white as my final paint, I used a darker paint for my first coat. I just painted it right onto the bottle.

???????????????????????????????

After that dried, I painted a coat of the Crackle Medium. With this stuff, just paint it in one direction and immediately move to the next section. You don’t want to stroke up and down in the same spot.

After that coat dries completely, you can paint your top coat.

???????????????????????????????

With the top coat, it is the same thing…you don’t want to stroke up and down in the same spot. Just one brushstroke in one direction and move over to the next section. You’ll notice the crackle effect starts to take place almost immediately.

After your top coat dries completely, you can add fun decorations. I cut out circles of fabric to put on the bottle. So for those bottles, I painted a coat of Mod Podge on the bottle first, put my fabric pieces in place and then painted another coat on top to seal in all in.

???????????????????????????????

You could also just dab dots of paint as decoration.

???????????????????????????????

Let everything dry completely and paint a final coat of Mod Podge over it to seal it in. You don’t need to seal the whole bottle, just the part that is painted.

And, then you are done. Time to fill it with a fun drink and make it a party!

???????????????????????????????

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

If you enjoy easy, DIY ideas, click the Follow button now so you don’t miss any!

10 thoughts on “Fun Summer Sippers

  1. Emily and I are loving your bottles Em says they are so cute! We especially liked seeing Maggie May.

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

