Keeping out-of-town family close at heart

We are all pretty spoiled these days with facebook, Skype, and iPhone pictures and videos as a way to keep connected. With nieces and nephews in other states, I’m still able to watch them sing, ride their bikes, sing happy birthday and even talk to them face-to-face through the computer. It is really amazing when you stop and think about it.

Even with all that technology, it is still hard being away from loved ones, especially kids. They build relationships with people they are around the most. This project is an easy way to keep relationships strong even when people are miles apart.

For this example, I did a photo sign for my kids from their Gigi (grandma) who lives 500 miles away. All I did was take a digital picture of her with each child and opened the photo in Microsoft Paint. There are different ways to do this. Depending on what program you are using, you can choose to “Open file as” and choose Paint. Or you can open up the Paint program, click “open” and then choose your photo. I chose to make the photo black and white so my add-on graphics would stand out.

black white

Once you have your photo opened in Paint, choose a shape that you want by clicking on it. I chose a star. Once your shape is selected, put your curser where you want the shape to be and drag outward to spread it open. Once you release, your shape is set. Pick a color and click the fill button. To add text inside, click on the A icon to the left of the screen and click inside the shape. This creates a text box to write in. Type what you want and you are done.

charliegigi

You can do all kinds of things with this..

???????????????????????????????

Just have fun and hang them where your kids will see them often!

???????????????????????????????maggie on shelf

???????????????????????????????

4 thoughts on “Keeping out-of-town family close at heart

  1. This is a great idea! We have some family that lives quite far and I think my kids would love a little visual reminder 🙂

  2. Your creativity and devotion to family continues to amaze me. I have no doubt that you will inspire others to see the world in a different light. While you don’t live in my city….you live forever in my heart!

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

