Knit cell phone case (that you don’t have to knit)

I don’t know about you, but the idea of putting my $600 lifeline into a pile of mints, pencils, coins and lotions makes me a little nervous.

make your own cell phone case

Even with a protective cover and case, I still wanted just one more layer of protection on my phone, something that was soft and easy to take on and off.

I thought a knit case would be nice but since I didn’t want to actually knit one, I just used the cuff of a sweater. My smart phone fit (almost) perfectly inside.

If you want to try this, just find an old sweater that you no longer want and cut the cuff off so you have a piece that is about one inch longer than your phone.

make your own cell phone casemake your own cell phone case

This will leave you with a tube of sweater. If your phone fits perfectly in the tube, great! If not, just cut along the seam to open it up. (don’t mind how crooked I cut it)

make your own cell phone case

If you want to add embellishment to your case, I suggest doing it while your cuff is opened up. It’s much easier to sew when it’s open like this. Just figure out how wide you need the case to be for your case to fit snugly and trim it so you know where the center of your case is for your artwork. Remember, a lot of these knit cuffs will have some stretch to it.

make your own cell phone case

You can use fabric, felt, buttons…anything you want to make it fun. Sew it on the front of one of the sides and you’re ready to finish.

Now fold your cuff in half (long ways) to sew the seam back up. It will be inside out at this point.  You’ll also need to sew across the bottom to close it up, leaving only the one opening at the top.

Now just turn it right-side out and you’re done!

make your own cell phone case

I also found this pair of my daughter’s mittens that she never wore, but I hung onto to use for something, someday.

make your own cell phone case

They actually fit my phone perfectly, so there was no cutting or sewing needed.

make your own cell phone case

I just got off the cord and decorated it and it was ready to go!

make your own cell phone case

Now I can just throw my phone into my bottomless pit of a purse and not have to worry!

make your own cell phone case

make your own cell phone case

3 thoughts on “Knit cell phone case (that you don’t have to knit)

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

