Bag for your diaper bag

If you’re a mom with young kids then you know how many bags it takes just to leave your house. Being able to condense anything is a huge help.

I was getting frustrated trying to run errands because I hated lugging a diaper bag and my big purse. But then if I put my wallet and phone in the diaper bag, they would just fall to the bottom, never to be seen again. I just wanted something that was the perfect size to hold the essentials from my purse and still fit nicely in the diaper bag.

You may be wondering why I don’t just get a diaper bag that was made in this decade, one that has all the upgrades like…. pockets.

This is my diaper bag.

make your own zipper bag

It has no pockets, no frills, and the zipper is broken, but I love it and I’m sticking with it. I just needed to solve this one, small problem.

If you don’t have this problem or don’t use a diaper bag, you may still like making these little bags. I’ve found they are actually nice to have around for all kinds of things.

All you need is a zipper (which is like $2.00 at Wal-Mart), some fabric, and felt or leather (if you want).

Cut your fabric into pieces about the size you want the bag to be. I used felt strips to have at the bottom of the bag for support. Suede would look nice, too.

make your own zipper bag

If you do want to have felt or leather at the bottom, line the pieces up with the right side of your fabric, pin in place and sew along the edge.

make your own zipper bag

When you open it up, the seam will be hidden and it will look like this. Do the same thing to your other piece of fabric and felt.

make your own zipper bag

Line one side of your zipper up to the right side of the top of your fabric piece, pin in place and sew.

make your own zipper bag

Add your other piece of fabric and felt to the other side of the zipper, pin and sew.

make your own zipper bag

Unzip the zipper a little if you like. It will make it easier in a bit. Then stich the three remaining sides (with the right sides of fabric facing each other) and trim excess fabric.

make your own zipper bag

Turn bag right side out and you’re done.

make your own zipper bag

I made one that was shorter and wider as well.

make your own zipper bag

Now I can just put my essentials in this bag for easy access.

make your own zipper bag

If you enjoy these posts and want them to come right to your email, just click the Follow button!

4 thoughts on “Bag for your diaper bag

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

