Three Unexpected Ways to Use Doilies

When I think of doilies, I usually think of Valentine’s Day. Although, sometimes I think of the Frasier episode where Marty called Frasier and Niles a couple of delicate doilies. Either way, they usually don’t make me think of home décor.

I wanted to stretch my mind for a minute and see if I could come up with a few ways to use doilies around the house. They are really cheap and great for making anything feminine and fun.

The first project was really easy. This worked for me because we have a room with dark paint so the white doily stood out. All I did was line up my doilies a little lower than mid-way down the wall to create a border. I just used double-sided tape.

New ways to use doilies

If you love the look and know you want to keep it a long time, you can glue the doily down and seal it with a clear gloss or even Mod-Podge. If you want to be able to change the look again soon, just tape them up.

New ways to use doilies

New ways to use doilies

The second experiment was to create a ceiling border by cutting the doilies in half so they would line up against the ceiling and wall edge for this look.

New ways to use doilies

Finally, I wanted to try to use the doilies on a piece of furniture that was just sitting in our garage, rotting. Here is the table before, yucky and water-stained.

New ways to use doilies

I cleaned it and painted two coats of primer on it.

New ways to use doilies

Since doilies are so girly, I figured this would need to be a table to go in our daughter’s room. Therefore, I went with the obligatory hot pink color.

I was going to paint the whole table hot pink, but after painting the top, I actually like the two-toned look.

New ways to use doilies

I stopped there and then painted the legs and rest of table with two coats of white paint.

I played around with the doilies on the table and glued them down with Mod Podge (can you tell I love that stuff?)

Then I painted a layer of Mod Podge over the entire top to seal it all down.

New ways to use doilies

New ways to use doilies

New ways to use doilies

Shortly after taking this picture, my daughter colored on every one of the doilies on this table. They must have looked like targets or some sort of coloring activity. But thanks to the good old Mod Podge topcoat, the pencil came right off!

This project was a lot of fun. I’d love to hear any other ways you all have used doilies. I’m a little fascinated with them now 🙂

If you enjoy these posts and would like them to come directly to your email, just click the Follow button.

6 thoughts on “Three Unexpected Ways to Use Doilies

  1. Beautiful ideas! I have almost the same bed cover and never thought of pairing it with grey walls. The doilies make the “grey and white” look simple to achieve. I love that! I also have been working on redoing old furniture as a hobby. You just gave me a new trick to add to my bag! Great stuff!

  2. Jill, you continue to amaze me……you work , have 2 perfect children and still have time to be oh, so creative. I salute you!!👏👏👏👏

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

