New Use for Honey Jar (Hand Scrub Holder)

honey jar maggie may's gifts

When I came across this honey jar, I immediately had images of visiting a local bee farm, filling it with raw, organic honey, and enjoying it at breakfast. Then I remembered I rarely eat honey, breakfast is usually served in the car, and I’m scared of bees and would never visit their farm.

But the little jar was so cute.

My Aunt Ginny was telling me about a homemade hand scrub she’s been using and I thought this jar would be perfect for that.

There are many different recipes for hand scrubs but I wanted to use what I had on hand. It doesn’t matter exactly what you use as long as you have the two main components: an exfoliant and a moisturizer.

ingredients for honey jar scrub maggie mays

I used salt and olive oil. You can use brown or regular sugar as your exfoliant. Coconut oil would work but it changes consistency depending on the temperature of the room which is why olive oil is nice. Just use what you have on hand.

Mix the ingredients together in your container. I used half salt and half oil. You’ll notice that the oil rises to the top and all the granules are at the bottom. This honey jar is so great because the little dipper stick is always right there to stir it before using. Otherwise, you’ll want to have a stirrer nearby at all times to stir before each use. Just put about a tablespoon in your hand, massage for a minute and rinse. The olive oil may feel a little greasy afterwards so rinse well. I still usually follow with a little lotion.

Place it on your sink for easy access and use everyday.

sink with hand scrub honey jar

I didn’t notice until posting this picture that I put the honey jar next to a Burt’s Bees lotion. It must be fate. ๐Ÿ™‚

If you enjoy these posts and want the latest to come to your email, click the “Follow” button.

sink with hand scrub honey jar

12 thoughts on “New Use for Honey Jar (Hand Scrub Holder)

  1. You continue to amaze…..I like the scrub idea …….I’ll be watching for a honey pot at the thrift store.
    My scrub is on my sink in a chicken bouillon jar….I can do better!!

  2. I must tell you that when I see Maggie May posts, I get super excited and look at them immediately. Thank you for being so creative. This is great and cannot wait to create my own scrub!!!

    Michelle Drake (415) 690-3275 cell Michelleidelldrake@gmail.com

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

