Ball Themed Kid’s Room

I’ve never been into theme-y bedrooms for my kids but I’d been considering one lately because my son has shown a clear infatuation with any type of ball. In fact, that was his first word.

Last month, A Wee Nest announced they were doing a September challenge. Basically, pick a project ย on Pinterest that you’ve been wanting to do for a while but keep putting off, and just do it.

I thought this would be the perfect chance to attempt a ball themed bedroom.

The pin that inspired me was from Inspired By This. This is an image from a baby shower they did using yarn balls (photograph by Studio EMP).

yarn balls inspired by this

I was stumped for most of September on this challenge and then I finally just got started and hoped it would lead me to a finished project.

First, I took these sheets of Styrofoam that were used for shipping and cut four circles out them using a circular glass that was the perfect size as my template.

DSC04108

DSC04109

Then I took a skirt I was going to donate and a quilt I had and cut out squares of fabric from them just bigger than the circle.

DSC04111

DSC04112

Then using a glue gun, I started folding down the fabric onto the back of the circle. I burned almost every finger. Be warned, this part can be dangerous.

DSC04114

Then I had four wrapped circles of Styrofoam.

DSC04116

On the back I bent up the tip of a paperclip to make a hook and glued it to the back of the circle with hot glue.

DSC04119

Then using removable 3M hooks (none of my home decor is considered permanent), I hung the circles up on the wall.

DSC04128

Then drawing on my inspiration pin (see above) I made little balls of yarn for decoration. Basically, I crumpled up a wad of newspaper and wrapped yarn around it until it looked like a ball of yarn.

DSC04125

On some of them, I left a loop of yarn to create a hook so I could hang them from the curtain rod and tie back hook.

DSC04126

DSC04129

DSC04137

DSC04124

I think my favorite part of this project is how lightweight everything is. So when the kidsย inevitably rip a circle off the wall or a ball off the curtain and hurl it across the room, we will all be ok.

That, and hearing my son say, “ball, ball, ball” every morning from his crib.

Thanks, A Wee Nest, for hosting this challenge! It was a lot of fun. My final project looks nothing like the original pin but I guess that is the beauty of inspiration…it does its own thing.

For practical and DIY ideas, be sure to click the Follow button so you don’t miss any!

19 thoughts on “Ball Themed Kid’s Room

  1. I LOVE what you’ve done! Thank you so much for participating. I hope you’ll join me again this month! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Great job!

    I wanna pass on a tip I got online that has helped my poor fingers when I get to use my glue gun–and I hope it helps yours, too:

    Wear garden gloves while working with it! ๐Ÿ™‚ (I even use gloves that are meltable, technically…and, even if they get melted a teense by the glue gun, I’m so much happier to be hurting them rather than my fingers!)

  3. Pingback: Monthly DIY: Pinecone Picture Frame Ornaments | A Wee Nest

  4. I like how you were able to accept the photo as inspiration rather than as a standard for your challenge. ๐Ÿ™‚
    If I can offer a simple suggestion, I think the wall pieces would look aMAZing if there was one more fabric circle, about 3x the size of the others, with both colors plus a shot of that red in uneven stripes. Then you could do an off-center grouping and it would feel more natural.

    Or just ignore me and love what you’ve got because it’s grand! My kids rooms aren’t clean enough to warrant any real themes, so you’re one up on me! ๐Ÿ˜‰

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

