Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free Pudding

pudding-dairy, gluten free

I love this recipe for chocolate pudding. I like that it is dairy-free and lacking all the preservatives and colorings that you find in boxed pudding, but it is also gluten-free which is just a bonus for some people. With a couple family members that cannot eat dairy or gluten, I’m trying to learn as many good recipes as I can so they don’t starve when they come over! Also, if you use Stevia instead of sugar, it is sugar-free, too. Woah. Despite all the “frees”, it really is delicious.

I first saw this recipe on A Beautiful Mess, but I had to play around with it to get it exactly how I (and my kids) like it, which is a little sweeter. Here’s what I came up with.

Simple ingredients:

1 ripe avacado
1/2 cup almond milk (I like vanilla but you can use unsweetened or even chocolate)
1/4 cup stevia or sugar
3 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 frozen banana
1/4 cup frozen mixed berries

This is a great opportunity to add some chia seeds for added nutrients since they will blend right in and won’t affect the taste.

Since everyone’s tastes are a little different, you kind of have to play around a little bit to get it how you like it. For example, I love the taste of banana in anything. If you don’t, just omit the banana and use another fruit. The fruit will add extra sweetness and thickness which is important because unsweetened carob can be a little bitter. Don’t go heavy on the carob.

Peel and pit your avocado and place into a food processor (or blender). Add in the carob powder, vanilla, milk, sweetener, and frozen fruit. Blend until smooth. You may need to add a little extra milk or fruit in order to get the consistency you like.

DSC05580

Place in your desired cups and put in fridge to chill.

DSC05602

Serve chilled.

DSC05605

Just a little hint. If you’re serving this to your family, call it pudding to your kids but when you serve your husband, call it a chocolate mousse. You’ll get a better reaction 🙂

 

*

For a new, free DIY idea or recipe to come right to you each week, hit the Follow button now!

 

11 thoughts on “Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free Pudding

  1. Pingback: DIY Pudding Pops- all natural, non-dairy, delicious | Maggie May's

      • I know! I tried for a while and it was too hard 🙂 If I had an intolerance it would be one thing but since I was just trying it for health reasons, I didn’t last 3 days! It does force you to eat well, though, bc you have to pay attention to everything you eat. Good luck!! I’ll keep on the lookout for more good recipes to share 🙂

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

