How to Make a Kids’ Activity Corner

I’ve been looking for a way to buy myself a few minutes to get dinner ready when the little people in our house need dinner NOW.

We have this little corner in our dining room that I can see from the kitchen and I thought it might be a perfect place to make an activity corner to keep kids entertained while they wait.

DSC05610 DSC05609

I’ve been thinking about this for a while but hadn’t come across exactly what I was looking for to make this happen.

Until I saw this little organizing shelf. It was perfect.

DSC05611

This rack actually was the perfect size to hold my yogurt tubs that I have an insane collection of. I just covered them in a fabric that matched the room using my DIY Mod Podge mixture.

DSC05612

I just cut the fabric to size and covered the tub in the glue, then the fabric and then painted another (liberal) layer of glue on top of the fabric.

DSC05613

Once that dried completely, I filled the tubs with game pieces and other items they would need in their corner.

We have a little table that we put in the corner and hung our new rack as low as possible so kids could reach the shelves.

Then we filled the shelves with the decorated tubs, markers, puzzles, activity books, and paper.

DSC05619

Then we hung the “Corner Rules” and that was it.

DSC05620

DSC05618

I think they are excited to have a little place of their own.

DSC05628

DSC05634

And I’m excited to have a few extra minutes to myself!

So, if you are like us and don’t have a ton of space, this activity corner is a great way to give your kids their own little area.

Make a kids activity corner

*

For a free DIY idea to come directly to you each week, hit the Follow button now. Thanks!

 

22 thoughts on “How to Make a Kids’ Activity Corner

  1. Every mom needs this corner! I would love the kids to have a space they could get creative in while I cook. It’s much better than them running under my feet and trying to touch the stove.

  2. Thank you for the inspiration! We need something like this – or I will soon trip over Naimah while trying to cook dinner and keep her entertained. I can’t wait to create my own x

  3. I LOVE this idea! My son was just hanging on my leg today as I was trying to get dinner ready. He usually plays really nicely by himself, but whenever I make dinner he wants to be right there. I am going to take your idea and make something like this at home. I really like how you included rules too!

  4. Very creative! I used to have a craft center but my son began standing on the table and taking the pictures off the wall. He’s a little older now so I might be able to bring it back again.

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

