How To Make Chocolate Covered Blueberries

How-To-Make-Chocolate-Covered-Blueberries

When blueberries went on sale for $.99 a pint, I had no choice but to stock up. Since it was raining blueberries at our house, I wanted to do something with them. I prefer easy, so I decided to dip them in chocolate for a nice summer treat.

It’s pretty self-explanatory but I just melted milk chocolate chips in a double broiler (well, in my homemade one using two pans). Putting the chips in the top pan and about 2 inches of water in the bottom pan will prevent your chocolate from sticking or scorching.

Then just dip the blueberries in with tongs. Or if you are like me and can’t find your tongs, then drop them in and fish them out with a fork. Whatever works.

DSC05876

Line dipped blueberries on wax paper (on a tray or plate) and then place in freezer for an hour or so.

DSC05877

Somewhere along the way I started to realize all of the things that would taste great if they were dipped in chocolate.

I cut up some strawberries and dipped them.

DSC05882

DSC05883

I sliced up a banana, spread some almond butter on top and then covered in chocolate.

DSC05880

DSC05881

Then once I started looking around the house for anything else I could dip, I knew it was time to stop.

Once everything was frozen, I brought them out for sampling.

DSC05885

Let me just say I’ve never seen anything get eaten so quickly, ever. They are truly addicting.

DSC05900

DSC05899

DSC05909
DSC05908

The only thing I might do differently next time is hide them from my kids!

*

If you would like a free, DIY idea or recipe to come right to you each week, Follow this blog now. Thanks!

15 thoughts on “How To Make Chocolate Covered Blueberries

  1. These look yummy! I will have to try that, chocolate is my weakness! Lol
    Love your blog topics! I also like to share in my blog DIY, recipes etc. I will be following you through social media.
    Found you on were two or three are gathered link up.
    Priscila
    Unfadingbeautyblog.com

  2. Yum! I’ve got blueberries, strawberries, and bananas on hand. I will definitely be dipping them all in chocolate this afternoon! Thanks for the tip about the two pans to keep the chocolate from sticking or burning. Can’t wait to fill my belly with some chocolate covered blueberries ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. We did a similar thing before. The kids and I made peanut butter “sandwiches” with Ritz crackers and dipped them in chocolate. I made way too much chocolate, and the kids got creative trying to find different things in the kitchen to cover in all that chocolatey goodness. I think the most unusual was chocolate-dipped dried mangoes. That was a bit strange, but my 3-year-old liked it.

  4. Yes silly, always hide the good stuff from the kids! And um, 99 cents a pint…I’m on my way! That is certainly one of the best things about summer. ‘m trying to get a pinterest board together for the group that starts on the 20th and I can’t seem to pin your site. It gives me a message about there being no images to pin. Any idea why this is happening? Thanks Jill!

    • Hi,
      I noticed that about this post too. I tried to pin a image to pinterest and it wasn’t pulling any. I have no idea! All my other posts will show all the images. I can’t figure out what is different with this particular post (chocolate covered blueberries). Will it let you pin from a different post or are you having trouble with the whole site?
      Sorry about this!!! I’ll look at that post again and see if I can figure it out.

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

