Combining Bedrooms with a Boy and Girl

DSC05806

As soon as we found out we were going to have a third baby, I began worrying about the sleeping arrangements. I knew the most logical thing would be to move our two year old son into our four year old daughter’s room, at least for a while.

I immediately began imagining them talking, giggling, and throwing things all night. I admit I was expecting the worst. We went back and forth for a while about when to make the move and we finally decided to just do it and get it over with.

To distract me from worrying about the sleeping part of the room share, I decided to focus on the actual room. That was more fun.

We really didn’t change much as far as the decor. Here was her room before.

DSC05099

We just moved her bed by the window and put his crib by the wall.

DSC05805

We hung back up the second shelf that had come down a while ago to give them each their own shelf.

shelves kids room

We kept the tissue paper flowersย and added a pink sparkle twig headboardย for her side of the room. We also kept her jeweled mirror on the wall and got her a larger twin bed (after I took these pictures).

DSC05803

For his side, we kept it baby blue with his sheets and framed fabric decor over his crib.

DSC05804

Then we just swapped out the large glider for a smaller one we had and moved it to the other side of the room.

Easy.

As far as the sleeping, it’s gone about as expected. After the third night we learned to put our sound-sleeping boy down first, let him fall asleep, and then take our daughter in. So far, so good. Sometimes.

*

For a free, DIY idea to come right to you each week, hit the Follow button now!

16 thoughts on “Combining Bedrooms with a Boy and Girl

  1. Congratulations Jill! What an amazing gift! I think you’ll find that within the walls of their new room, there is not as much frustration as there is joy. They will know each other better and become better friends, even at the young ages of two and four. Number three was a huge step for us, but she is a joy. Blessings on this pregnancy. I hope you’re feeling well!

  2. We had to do this with our daughter and our youngest son. They had fun at first … she was kind of like his 2nd mama. But, when he started taking down her Princess posters (he’s not in a crib anymore), she was counting down the days when he would move out. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. As I told you Jill…my 3yr. younger brother and I shared a room until I was 8. Then we moved and I got my own room, but I didn’t like sleeping alone. He was OK. I’d occasionally sleep in one of his twin beds for another year whenever I’d get scared or have a nightmare. By the time Maggie’s ready to be on her own again the 2 boys will have fun sharing. xoxo

    • Thank you! Pretty much everyone I talked to who shared a room growing up loved it. They seem to love it too. It’s just when Maggie gets a daytime nap and she’s not tired at night that we have a problem. ha ๐Ÿ™‚ xo

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

