Guilt-Free (mostly) Carrot Cake Doughnuts

carrot cake doughnutsI would normally never think to make my own doughnuts but this pan was half off in the checkout lane and I couldn’t resist. 

DSC05449

I couldn’t figure out exactly what to make but then when I had a bunch of leftover carrots one day, I had my answer. I love carrot cake, but I never think to make it. These aren’t really official doughnuts, more of a carrot cake in a circular shape, but I prefer to call them doughnuts.

It’s actually pretty easy.

For the cake, you will need:
2 Eggs
1 Cup Sugar
3/4 Cup Applesauce (guiltfree version). Otherwise, use 3/4 cup Vegetable Oil
1 1/2 Cups Fresh Carrots, grated
1 Cup Flour, all-purpose
1 tsp Baking soda
1 tsp Cinnamon, ground
1/8 tsp Nutmeg, ground
1/2 tsp Salt

You can add a few tablespoons of ground flax seeds or chia seeds into the batter if you want a few extra nutrients. You could also add some raisins if you like.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the eggs, sugar and oil using an electric mixer. Beat at medium speed until mixture is smooth and creamy (about 2 minutes). Fold in the grated carrots and mix well.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the all-purpose flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Mix well.

Whisk the dry flour mixture into the wet egg mixture until smooth. Using a small spoon, spread batter into sections of the doughnut pan.

Bake at 350 degrees F until doughnuts are done. Since the molds are fairly shallow, check on them often as the bake time may be quicker than usual. They are done when a toothpick comes out clean.

DSC05450

Let doughnuts cool completely before frosting.

For the frosting, you will need:
2 oz Low fat or fat free cream cheese (guilt-free). Otherwise, use full flavor
1 Tbs Butter (room temperature)
1/4 Cup Powdered Sugar
1/4 tsp Vanilla Extract

This recipe makes a small batch with a light layer of frosting. Feel free to double recipe if you need a larger batch.

DSC05459

I’ve found that sometimes just changing the shape of a food item can make it more fun to eat. Plus, I love calling them doughnuts to my family when I know the non-fried truth!

Enjoy!

*

For a free, DIY idea or recipe to come right to you each week, don’t forget to hit the Follow button now!!

6 thoughts on “Guilt-Free (mostly) Carrot Cake Doughnuts

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

