Dairy-Free Chocolate Icing

Dairy Free Icing

I hope you all will trust me on this one because I know how it is going to sound. Even if you don’t have an intolerance to dairy, this is worth trying because it’s definitely a heathier and more nutritious version of icing.

I recently read that avocado makes a great replacement for butter in recipes. I don’t use butter too much except when I make icing. Since the icing recipe is only butter, powdered sugar, vanilla extract and a tiny bit of milk, I knew this was going to be risky.

I decided to try it anyway just to see. I am so glad I did! This icing recipe certainly isn’t “healthy” as it is full of powdered sugar, but it’s definitely much better than the version with a stick of butter.

To make a delicious chocolate icing, all you need is:

1/2 Ripe Avocado
4-5 Cups Powdered Sugar
3/4 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
3-5 Tablespoons Vanilla Almond or Soy Milk
1 teaspoon Cocoa Powder

Blend everything together until it is the consistency you want. You will need to play around with the amount of sugar and milk to get the consistency and flavor you want. Thinner for a glaze and thicker for icing cookies or cupcakes.

I did it at first with just avocado, sugar, vanilla and almond milk and my icing looked like this.

dairy-free chocolate icing

This would be great for St. Patrick’s day, but for everyday use it needed another color. Rather than use food coloring, cocoa powder make the perfect addition. It also gave it a chocolate taste, which made it even better.

Here it is with just bit of cocoa powder.

dairy-free chocolate icing

Spread it on just like icing and there you go. I personally think it tastes just like my regular icing. Tons of powdered sugar and cocoa powder will do that!

No one in my house knew there was anything different with the icing.

dairy-free chocolate icing

Some people may have liked it a little too much.

dairy-free chocolate icing

dairy-free chocolate icing

dairy-free chocolate icing

So if you have a dairy intolerance and don’t want to miss out on yummy icing or if you just want a healthier version, give this a try!

Don’t miss any DIY ideas or recipes by Following this blog now! It will come right to your inbox.

17 thoughts on “Dairy-Free Chocolate Icing

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

