Artful Reminder To Enjoy Your Kids

DSC06945A phrase my dad often says when referring to my kids is, “Enjoy Them.”

I appreciate hearing that because, quite frankly, I can use the reminder. It’s so easy to get caught up in raising our kids that sometimes we forget to just enjoy them. Thankfully, grandparents are excellent reminders of this.

One of my favorite movie clips is from the movie, Parental Guidance. The scene is funny because of its ridiculousness, but more funny because it’s true. Billy Crystal and Bette Midler play the role of grandparents who will be watching their grandkids for the weekend and are asking if there is anything they need to keep in mind. The parents, of course, have plenty for them to keep in mind.

Sound familiar to anyone?

I thought it might help to make an artistic reminder of my dad’s great parenting advice by displaying it where I would see it often. I also really like his mom’s advice to him, which was, “Have fun. Just don’t get arrested and don’t get killed” but I decided that, “Enjoy Them” might look nicer on the wall 🙂

DSC06945

If you want to make one too, it’s really easy. You just need:

~An art canvas
~Paintbrush
~Acrylic paint in a color you love
~Metallic acrylic paint
~Clear glitter
~Small container with a little water

I played around a little with the paint to get the exact color I wanted. I was afraid my lettering wouldn’t show over the paint so I made a watercolor for my heart by mixing a few drops of my paint (I mixed orange and white to make this salmon color) with a few drops of water. This lightened it up a bit.

watercolor art Enjoy Them

I tried it out on paper first to get my design how I wanted it.

Watercolor art

Once I had the design I wanted, I painted onto my art canvas. With a pencil, I lightly wrote the words, Enjoy Them! onto the canvas making sure some of the lettering overlapped with the heart.

DSC06932

Then I used a small paintbrush to paint the letters with a metallic gold paint.

watercolor art Enjoy Them

Then I just painted another thin layer of watercolor over the heart so it was wet and then sprinkled clear glitter on it. I used a glitter that was larger than normal glitter. This made it really stand out on the canvas.

watercolor art Enjoy Them

Then I let it dry and hung it up.

DSC06941

This would be cute with any phrase or word you want to be reminded of often.

DSC06945DSC06947

What’s your favorite parenting advice you’ve ever received? Share it in the comments below. The advice could have been solicited or unsolicited. ha

*

For a new DIY idea to come right to you each week, follow Maggie May’s now by clicking the Follow button on the sidebar.

20 thoughts on “Artful Reminder To Enjoy Your Kids

  1. Great advice! Something I need to be reminded of everyday! My favorite parenting advice came from a quote, “The days are long but the years are short.”

  2. What a great idea..I often need that reminder too..especially after winter break and long, cold days in the house! 😆
    Molly

  3. Loved that movie more than I thought I would. I totally agree. One of my regrets is not spending time enjoying my daughter when she was younger. Now that she is older I cherish spending as much time with her as I can.

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

