Make Your Own Frames And Arrange a Wall Collage

make own frames and arrange collage

Ever since I made these easy frames for inspirational art, I’ve become obsessed with making my own frames.

Make your own rustic art frames

Frames are so expensive and with as quickly as I get bored with whatever is on my walls, I hate to spend a lot of money on them.

The link to the previous project will show you in more detail how to make the frames, but it’s so simple I can tell you again here.

Take scraps of wood in whatever size you need or buy a piece from Lowe’s and have them cut it to the sizes you need. Then paint the pieces whatever color you want.

You will have a piece of wood that looks like this.

make own frames and arrange collage

Then take your photo and attach it to the frame. I like the look of small screws but you can use decorative nails or tacks or even glue it on (and cover) with Mod Podge so it’s sealed to the wood.

make own frames and arrange collage

Then turn it over and attach a hanging hook in the center.

make own frames and arrange collage

Now, cut out pieces of paper in the sizes and layouts as your frames, put a piece of double-sided tape on them and start playing around with layouts.

make own frames and arrange collage

This step is really helpful because it’s tricky to make different sized frames look right together on the wall.

When it’s good enough (I learned I don’t have the eye for this), you can start swapping out the paper for a frame using a 3M removable hook or a nail.

make own frames and arrange collage

And that is it.

make own frames and arrange collage

Cheap and easy 🙂

make own frames and arrange collage

*

For a new idea to come to you each week, Follow Maggie May’s now by clicking the Follow button in the sidebar and entering your email address. Don’t worry, your email address will never be shared with anyone!

17 thoughts on “Make Your Own Frames And Arrange a Wall Collage

  1. Great idea! It should motivate me to get those pictures out of my hard drive and on to the wall! I love the inspirational art pieces too!

  2. That’s such a great idea. It can be tricky putting up a collage, so I love the idea of placing paper down before. Thanks!

  3. I kept reading to find the hard part…and am very happy that I didn’t find it! I’m going to try this!!! Pinning!

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

