How to Pit a Cherry (and fill it with treats)

DSC05951If you’re looking for the easiest way to pit a cherry and want a yummy, healthy cherry treat, you are in luck.

My sister and I recently went on a natural foods health plan. Basically, we are trying to eat mainly fruits, veggies, nuts and grains and avoid all processed foods. Trying is the key word.

I was having a tough moment and reached out to her that I was dying for one of those chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwiches. In her attempt to help, she wrote back that I could pit a cherry with a straw and shove an almond or walnut in it. It would be like a cherry cobbler.

My first thought was, “Is she nuts?” Apparently, I can still pun when I’m starving.

My second thought was, “I really want a chocolate chip ice cream sandwich.”

And finally, I realized what a great idea she had. I love cherries but never buy them because I hate the pits. I couldn’t wait to try this.

To make these, you will need red cherries, almonds (or mixed nuts) and a straw. I don’t recommend skinny, cheap straws because they are too flimsy. If you can get one of the larger ones from Starbucks, those are great. I also found that the hard plastic straws that are in some sippy cups work well.

Wash your cherries and remove the stem. Poke your straw through the center of the cherry. I found that I had to push the straw through each end of the cherry first to create a tunnel.

DSC05952Once I had an opening, the straw just pushed the pit through.

DSC05953

Now you have a nice, clean opening in your cherry.

DSC05955

You can leave it like this for easy eating or you can fill it with an almond or other nut.

DSC05956

DSC05957

For any Ohio State fans (or if you just love Ohio!), I thought these looked like little buckeyes.

cherry almond buckeyes

I also had these little squares of chocolate from a trail mix and found they fit perfectly inside, as well. This made a yummy, chocolate-cherry treat.

DSC05963

While these are no match for a chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwich, they really are a sweet and filling snack. Enjoy!

*

For a free, DIY idea to come right to you each week, click the Follow button in the right sidebar and enter your email address. Don’t worry, your address will never be shared with anyone, ever. Thanks!

easiest way to pit a cherry

This post is linked to http://www.normaleverydaylife.com/2014/07/motivational-monday-101.html

24 thoughts on “How to Pit a Cherry (and fill it with treats)

  1. Pingback: 5 Ways to Pit Cherries Faster | Fox And A Parasol

  2. OMG I’m totally doing this with the cherries and chocolate for a cherries jubilee over vanilla ice cream for dessert sometime this week! How helpful! Thanks for the tip!

  3. Those are SO cute! I will have to try this. Pits are one of the reasons I don’t like eating cherries! Amazing! I will definitely have to try this! Thanks! 🙂

  4. My father in law has one less cherry potter this year because we took full advantage of the sales this year and have a couple good sized bags in the freezer. I love the idea of putting little goodies inside each one! Yum!

What do you think? I would really love to know!!