Save A Stained Shirt

If you ask me, the most useful baby gift you could give to an expecting mother is a huge box of OxiClean. When young kids eat, they usually just aim in the general direction of their head, leaving more food on their clothes (and bodies) than in their mouth.

Usually, I can throw a stained item in the wash right away but every now and then there is a stubborn stain what won’t come out no matter how I treat it.

Here is an example.

save a stained shirt

While the shirt is very clean, it just looks disgusting. It makes me to sad to just throw a shirt away so I wanted to see if I could save it.

I did a similar post with a sweater with a hole in it. You can see how that turned out here.

For this shirt, I decided to save it with hearts.

First, I cut out a heart from pink fabric by folding it in half and drawing half of the heart (just like we did in elementary school).

save a stained shirt

save a stained shirt

Then I cut it out, opened it up and placed it over the stained area. The stains were ALL OVER so I actually had to cut out another heart to cover up another section. Then I just added a couple more hearts for fun. I pinned them in place and sewed them all down with a zig-zag stitch around the edges.

save a stained shirt

Now someone has a whole new shirt!

DSC04529

save a stained shirt

So, if OxiClean is no match for your little food artist, I hope this idea can save the day!

*

If you enjoy these posts and don’t want to miss any, click the Follow button now.

Thanks!

save a stained shirt collage

17 thoughts on “Save A Stained Shirt

  1. This is one of the cutest things I have ever seen! I love it! Sadly, I don’t know how to sew (no sewing machine), but I have a few shirts that could use a similar treatment. Perhaps I could get a sewing machine for my birthday…

What do you think? I would really love to know!!