Easy, Inexpensive Way to Make Framed Wall Art

If you are in need of some wall art but don’t consider yourself a painter, you are in luck. You can make some beautiful art with finger painting. It’s not just for kids!

Make Wall Art by finger painting-maggiemaysgifts

For this project, I wanted to make flower art. Since I love hydrangeas, I thought those would be nice flowers to paint.

First, take a piece of card stock and trace the shape of whatever you want. This would work for any type of flower.

Fingerpainting for adults-Make wall art-Maggie May's Gifts

Next, fill up a plastic plate with your paint colors. I just used basic craft paint.

Start dabbing along your traced flower.Fingerpainting for adults-Make wall art-Maggie May's Gifts

For these flowers, I wanted pink to be the main color but wanted several accent colors to come through. I just dabbed some pink and then filled in the white space with white and gray.

Fingerpainting for adults-Make wall art-Maggie May's Gifts

Next, add in some other colors. I added lime green, baby blue and pale pink.Fingerpainting for adults-Make wall art-Maggie May's Gifts

Just keep layering. Let it dry a little and add more layers. When you think you’ve layered it enough, do some more. You can’t layer the paint dabs too much. It’s nice to have some of the accent colors just peeking through.

Fingerpainting for adults-Make wall art-Maggie May's Gifts

Fingerpainting for adults-Make wall art-Maggie May's Gifts

Next, you can add some stems and petals if you want.

I wanted to create a vase for a bouquet painting so I made a vase template using paper. A little tip is to fold the paper in half and then cut your vase shape out (similar to how you made hearts in grade school). This will make a vase that is even on both sides.

Fingerpainting for adults-Make wall art-Maggie May's Gifts

Then trace your vase shape onto thick card stock. If you have card stock in the vase color you want, perfect. If not, use white and spray paint it like I did. I painted my vase metallic silver.

Line it up and glue it down.

Fingerpainting for adults-Make wall art-Maggie May's Gifts

Let everything dry well and put it into a frame.

Fingerpainting for adults-Make wall art-Maggie May's Gifts

Fingerpainting for adults-Make wall art-Maggie May's Gifts

And that’s it. This is such an easy, inexpensive way to make exactly what you want, in the colors you want. Plus, no tools needed…just some paint and your hands!

Happy painting.

DSC08292

 

*

For a new, DIY idea to come right to you each week, follow Maggie May’s now by clicking the Follow button in the right side bar. Don’t worry, your address will never be shared with anyone.

16 thoughts on “Easy, Inexpensive Way to Make Framed Wall Art

  1. Love this, I am going to have to try it, I know my daughter will enjoy it.I see you also did celery stalk painting, thats been on our to do list too!

What do you think? I would really love to know!!