Easy Way to Display Kids’ Art

Easy Way To Display Kids' Art

In February, I made a Love Wall to display in Starbucks. To make it, I had to use up frames from around our house which left our living room wall sad and bare.

Easy Way To Display Kids' Art

Since this room is currently in transition (i’m trying to slowly replace all the browns and dark with bright and colorful), I wasn’t ready to buy any artwork for this area. In fact, I had no idea what I wanted to do here.

All I knew is that I was sick of looking at a blank wall.

I decided to let my kids handle the decorating until I figured out what to do.

There are a lot of great ways to display kids’ art, but I decided on using open frames to hang them. It is easy to swap out the pictures and it’s lightweight to hang.

I’d been looking around for the right frames but was having a hard time. Then I stumbled across a garage sale that had these three frames which were perfect. I love when that happens!

Easy Way To Display Kids' Art

I removed the glass and backing and measured out jute roping to fit across the back. I tied the end in a knot to hold better to the hot glue, which held it down.

Easy Way To Display Kids' Art

Depending on the size of your frame, you can have one or more art hanging lines.

DSC05703

I just hung them on the wall.

Easy Way To Display Kids' Art

And then I put my kids to work.

Easy Way To Display Kids' Art

Using a clothes pin, I hung their artwork and that was it.

Easy Way To Display Kids' Art

I like that this designates a spot for their art instead of getting randomly taped around the house.

Easy Way To Display Kids' Art

I realize I fell into my old habit of using earth tones (jute) for this project. Rethinking this, these frames might look cute with a bright, decorative ribbon instead. Or if you hang them in a child’s room, a pastel, satiny ribbon would be pretty.

Lots of options. Have fun!

*

For a new, DIY idea to come right to you each week, follow this blog now and enter your email address. Don’t worry, your information will never be shared with anyone!

12 thoughts on “Easy Way to Display Kids’ Art

  1. Pingback: Turn Your Child’s Artwork Into A Custom Bookcase | Maggie May's

  2. This is a great idea. I’m going to try it out. My kids have tons of artwork I can’t bear to part with but yet they lay around the house in piles instead. If I did this, I could hang them proudly and everyone would love it. Thanks for the idea!

  3. The thing I love about your projects, it makes me think “I could do that!” They’re so easy and yet so cute! Thanks again for the motivation to try some of my own home projects!

  4. Great idea! I do love framing my kids artwork. You could also paint the frames in fun colors if you wanted more color. Color is good!

What do you think? I would really love to know!!

