Make Your Own Glitter Knobs

Every time I go to Anthropologie or World Market, I always have to check out their dresser knobs. They have some of the coolest hardware.

Since this dresser in my kids’ room is a cheap, older one that I’ve had forever, I wasn’t afraid to play around with it. I wanted to see if I could give it a little face lift without spending $100 on knobs.

Here is the dresser before.

DIY Glitter Knobs

For this project, you’ll only need Mod Podge, glitter, and a paintbrush.

DIY Modge Podge

I started out using my homemade version of Mod Podge but forgot that this version leaves a matte finish. For this project I wanted a gloss finish so I used store bought Gloss Mod Podge instead.

To begin, remove your knobs with a screwdriver.

Then paint a layer of Mod Podge on the knob and immediately dip it in a pile of sparkles dabbing it all around until the knob is completely covered.

DIY Mod Podge

DIY Glitter Knobs

Let dry. Then paint another layer of Mod Podge on top of the glitter. It will look white but don’t worry, it dries clear and glossy.

DIY Glitter Knobs with Mod Podge

After that dries, you can do one more layer of Mod Podge just to make sure it’s all sealed down. Since it’s a frequently touched item, you don’t want glitter coming off on your hands.

Let dry.

Your knob will look shiny and glittery but the glitter will be completely sealed down.

DIY Glitter Knobs with Mod Podge

Now you are ready to put your knobs back on your dresser. At first, I thought it would be fun to have each drawer have its own color. Here’s how that turned out.

DIY Glitter Knobs with Mod Podge

I changed my mind and wanted to see how it would look with all one color so I just glittered over the finished ones with the glitter I wanted.

DIY Glitter Knobs with Mod Podge

These pictures don’t show off the knobs very well, but here is the final dresser with all the knobs in the same glitter.

DIY Glitter Knobs with Mod Podge

Make your own glitter knobs-kids dresser

DIY Glitter Knobs with Mod Podge

This is a fun, cheap way to add a little color and sparkle to any piece of furniture.

Don’t miss any fun, free DIY ideas! Hit the Follow button in the right sidebar now. A new idea will come to you each week!

DIY Glitter Knobs with Mod Podge

12 thoughts on “Make Your Own Glitter Knobs

  1. Pingback: The 15 Most Gorgeous DIY Glitter Crafts You Can Make Right Now

  2. Oh yes, I like the finished look with all one color! I think different shades of one color would look cute too, but multiple colors doesn’t do it for me. 😉 This is a fun idea – great job!!

What do you think? I would really love to know!!